Sublet Laws for Every U.S. State

What are the sublet laws for your state? Find out if you will need the landlord's consent to sublet with this guide subletting laws for all U.S. states.

Whether you're a landlord or tenant, it's important to know what is a sublet and how it affects your lease. After learning your sublease laws, we recommend that you check out our guide to subletting.

If you do not find your state listed below, it means that your state doesn't have any specific sublet laws. In those cases, the rules for subletting will be determined by your lease agreement terms instead.

Subletting Laws - Permission to Sublet

Alaska AK





Arkansas AR

California CA

Colorado CO


Delaware DE


Florida FL



Hawaii HI



Idaho ID



Missouri MO



Nebraska NE


Nevada NV

New York NY



Pennsylvania PA


South Dakota SD


Texas TX

Utah UT

Virginia VA



The prospective subtenant has to sign and submit his or her application information to the landlord. The landlord will inform the subtenant in writing whether he or she has been accepted within 14 days. If the landlord rejects the subtenant, Alaska sublease laws require the landlord to give a reason for the rejection.

The main tenant has to obtain the landlord's permission to sublet.

The main tenant has to obtain the landlord's permission to sublet.

The landlord can disallow the main tenant from subletting but it has to stated in the written lease agreement.

The landlord can disallow the main tenant from subletting but it has to stated in the written lease agreement.

The landlord has the right to disallow the main subtenant from subletting. Even if the lease agreement allows subletting, the tenant has to obtain the landlord's permission first.

The landlord has the right to disallow the main subtenant from subletting. Even if the lease agreement allows subletting, the tenant has to obtain the landlord's permission first.

The landlord has the right to disallow the main subtenant from subletting. Even if the lease agreement allows subletting, the tenant has to obtain the landlord's permission first.

The main tenant has to obtain the landlord's permission to sublet. If the main tenant sublets the property with the landlord's consent, the tenant may have to pay damages equal to twice the rent amount.

The main tenant is allowed to sublet unless the landlord openly prohibits the sublet.

The main tenant is allowed to sublet.

The main tenant is allowed to sublet if the building owned by the landlord has 4 or more rental units. In this case, the landlord cannot object to the sublet.

If the landlord allows subletting, the subtenant has to follow the same lease rules and regulations as the main tenant.

The main tenant is allowed to sublet. Subtenants are held directly accountable to the landlord for any lease violations.

The main tenant has to obtain the landlord's permission to sublet.

The main tenant is allowed to sublet.

If the main tenant wants to sublet, he or she has to send a request in writing to the landlord. The landlord will have 10 days to approve or decline the main tenant's request. If no reply is given by the landlord within 10 days, the main tenant will be allowed to sublet according to Virginia sublet laws.

States with NO specific subletting laws: Alabama AL, Arizona AZ, Connecticut CT, District of Columbia DC, Georgia GA, Illinois IL, Indiana IN, Iowa IA, Kansas KS, Kentucky KY, Louisiana LA, Maine ME, Maryland MD, Massachusetts MA, Michigan MI, Minnesota MN, Mississippi MS, Montana MT, New Hampshire NH, New Jersey NJ, New Mexico NM, North Carolina NC, North Dakota ND, Ohio OH, Oklahoma OK, Oregon OR, Rhode Island RI, South Carolina SC, Tennessee TN, Vermont VT, Washington WA, West Virginia WV, Wisconsin WI, Wyoming WY

Landlord Tenant Law