U.S. Security Deposit Laws - Security Deposit Amount and Interest

U.S. security deposit laws - Find out what is the maximum security deposit amount for your state and whether you have to pay any interest on security deposit today.

If you're renting a property in the United States, it's important to learn the your state security deposit rules. If you run afoul of these laws, the tenant can file a lawsuit against you to claim for damages and attorney fees.

As you will see below, some states do not have specific laws on security deposit interest. That means that you won't have to hold the deposit money in a separate (interest-bearing) account or pay any interest on security deposit.

If your lease is ending, Click here to see your state security deposit rules for the return of security deposit.

Security Deposit Laws - Max Security Deposit Amount and Security Deposit Interest

Alabama AL



Alaska AK





Arizona AZ


Arkansas AR

California CA



Colorado CO

Connecticut CT







Delaware DE





District of Columbia


Florida FL

Georgia GA

Hawaii HI

Idaho ID

Illinois IL




Indiana IN

Iowa IA

Kansas KS




Kentucky KY


Louisiana LA



Maine ME

Maryland MD





Massachusetts MA






Michigan MI

Minnesota MN



Mississippi MS

Missouri MO

Montana MT

Nebraska NE


Nevada NV

New Hampshire NH





New Jersey NJ







New Mexico NM





New York NY







North Carolina NC







North Dakota ND




Ohio OH




Oklahoma OK



Oregon OR

Pennsylvania PA




Rhode Island RI

South Carolina SC

South Dakota SD




Tennessee TN



Texas TX

Utah UT

Vermont VT

Virginia VA

Washington WA



West Virginia WV

Wisconsin WI

Wyoming WY

Maximum deposit amount of 1 month's rent. The landlord is allowed to ask for more if the tenant keeps pets, makes alterations to the property or conducts activities that increase liability risks.

Maximum deposit amount of 2 month's rent if monthly rent is $2,000 or less. If monthly rent is more than $2,000, then there is no limit for the deposit amount. Wherever possible, the deposit should be held in a trust account in a bank, savings and loan association or licensed escrow agent.

Maximum deposit amount of 1.5 month's rent, unless the tenant agrees to pay more than this limit.

Maximum deposit amount of 2 month's rent.

Maximum deposit amount of 2 month's rent for an unfurnished property. If the property is furnished, the maximum limit is increased to 3 month's rent according to California security deposit law.

No limit for the deposit amount.

Maximum deposit amount of 2 month's rent if the tenant is less than 62 years old. If tenant is 62 years and older, the maximum amount is reduced to 1 month's rent. The landlord has to pay interest on security deposit to the tenant every year on the lease anniversary date. The interest rate is to be determined by the Connecticut Department of Banking and varies year to year, but Connecticut security deposit law prevents it from dipping below 1.5%.

Maximum deposit amount of 1 month's rent for a fixed term lease lasting 1 year of more. There is no maximum limit for a month to month lease, but any amount over 1 month of rent must be refunded to the tenant after the first year of lease. In addition to this amount, the landlord is allowed to ask for 1 month's rent as pet deposit.

Maximum deposit amount of 1 month's rent.


No limit for the deposit amount.

Maximum deposit amount of 1 month's rent.

Maximum deposit amount of 1 month's rent.

No limit for the deposit amount.

No limit for the deposit amount. If the landlord owns a building with 25 or more rental units and the security deposit is held for more than 67 months, then the landlord has to pay security deposit interest to the tenant.

No limit for the deposit amount.

Maximum deposit amount of 2 month's rent.

Maximum deposit amount of 1 month's rent for an unfurnished property. If the property is furnished, the maximum limit is increased to 1.5 month's rent. In addition to this amount, the landlord is allowed to ask for an additional 0.5 month's rent as pet deposit.

No limit for the deposit amount. The security deposit has to be held in a separate account apart from all other funds.

No limit for the deposit amount. Louisiana deposit security deposit law does not require the landlord to pay any security deposit interest unless he or she agrees to.

Maximum deposit amount of 2 month's rent.

Maximum deposit amount of 2 month's rent. The security deposit has to held into a separate interest-bearing account of a Maryland bank within 30 days. If the deposit amount is more than $50, then security deposit interest has to be paid to the tenant. This simple interest rate is locked in at 3% per year and accrued every 6 months.

Maximum deposit amount of 1 month's rent. The security deposit has to be held in a separate interest-bearing account of a Massachusetts bank within 30 days. If the lease extends over 1 year, then the landlord has to pay security deposit interest to the tenant every year on the lease anniversary date. This deposit interest rate is pegged to the bank interest rate but capped at a maximum of 5% per year.

Maximum deposit amount of 1.5 month's rent.

No limit for the deposit amount. The landlord has to pay the tenant interest on the security deposit accumulated during the period when the landlord is holding the security deposit.

No limit for the deposit amount.

Maximum deposit amount of 2 month's rent.

No limit for the deposit amount.

Maximum deposit amount of 1 month's rent. In addition to this amount, the landlord can ask for 0.25 month's rent as pet deposit.

Maximum deposit amount of 3 month's rent.

No limit on the deposit amount for landlords with 6 rental units or less. A landlord with more than 6 rental units can only ask for a maximum deposit amount of 1 month's rent. New Hampshire security deposit laws require the landlord to hold the deposit in a special escrow account or post a bond with the local municipality.

Maximum deposit amount of 1.5 month's rent. The landlord has to hold the security deposit in a separate interest-bearing account. The landlord has to pay security deposit interest to the tenant every year on the lease anniversary date. Landlords with 10 or more rental units have to hold the security deposits in an insured money market fund or federally insured bank account. In this case, the interest rate has to be equal to the average returns of the money market accounts.

Maximum deposit amount of 1 month's rent for lease lasting less than 1 year. There is no limit on the deposit amount for lease lasting 1 year or more. If the landlord collects more than 1 month's rent as deposit, he or she has to pay the tenant current passbook interest on the entire deposit amount.

No limit for the deposit amount. According to New York security deposit law, the security deposit has to be held in a separate account apart from all other funds. The landlord of a building with 6 or more rental units has to hold the security deposits in interest-bearing New York bank accounts. In this case, the landlord is allowed to keep 1% security deposit interest as administrative expenses and the remaining interest has to be paid to the tenant.

Maximum deposit amount of 1.5 month's rent for a month to month lease. If the lease lasts more than 2 months, the maximum limit is increased to 2 month's rent. In addition to this amount, the landlord is permitted to ask for a nonrefundable pet deposit of reasonable amount. The landlord has to either keep the security deposit in a trust account of a North Carolina bank or purchase a deposit bond from a North Carolina insurance company.

Maximum deposit amount of 1 month's rent. In addition to this amount, the landlord is permitted to ask for up to $1,500 as pet deposit. If the security deposit is held for more than 9 months, then landlord has to pay interest on security deposit to the tenant.

No limit for the deposit amount. If the landlord asks for more than 1 month's rent as security deposit and holds the deposit money for more than 6 months, then he or she has to pay the tenant interest on any additional amount over 1 month's rent.

No limit for the deposit amount. The landlord is required by Oklahoma security deposit laws to hold the deposit money in an insured Oklahoman escrow account.

No limit for the deposit amount.

For the first year of lease, the landlord can ask for up to 2 month's rent as security deposit. Once the second year of lease begins, the landlord is only allowed to retain up to 1 month's rent as deposit so any additional amount over this limit has to be refunded to the tenant.

Maximum deposit amount of 1 month's rent.

No limit for the deposit amount.

Maximum deposit amount of 1 month's rent. According to South Dakota security deposit laws, the landlord is allowed to ask for more if the tenant keeps pets, makes alterations to the property or conducts activities that increase liability risks.

No limit for the deposit amount. According to Tennessee security deposit laws, the landlord has to hold all security deposit funds in an separate account.

No limit for the deposit amount.

No limit for the deposit amount.

No limit for the deposit amount.

Maximum deposit amount of 2 month's rent.

No limit for the deposit amount. Washington security deposit laws require the landlord to keep the deposit money in a trust account. The landlord is allowed to keep any security deposit interest accrued.

No limit for the deposit amount.

No limit for the deposit amount.

No limit for the deposit amount.

Security Deposit