U.S. Security Deposit Laws - Return of Security Deposit

Is your lease over? Then learn the security deposit laws that govern the return of security deposit in your state.

Most states in the U.S. have a specific deadline for security deposit returns (commonly between 14 to 45 days from the end of a lease). Unless otherwise specified (e.g. see Florida below), the same deadline applies to security deposit deductions as well.

The security deposit rules for some states do not specify a deadline, but the landlord still has to return within security deposit within a reasonable time frame This is commonly assumed to be 30 days but we highly recommend a security deposit return within 14 days to play it safe.

Your state laws also dictate the amount of security deposit you can ask for and whether you have to pay interest on security deposit - Click here to see your state security deposit rules for deposit amount and interest.

Security Deposit Laws - Deduction and Return of Security Deposit

Alabama AL

Alaska AK



Arizona AZ

Arkansas AR

California CA

Colorado CO


Connecticut CT



Delaware DE

District of Columbia

Florida FL





Georgia GA

Hawaii HI

Idaho ID


Illinois IL



Indiana IN

Iowa IA

Kansas KS

Kentucky KY


Louisiana LA


Maine ME


Maryland MD



Massachusetts MA

Michigan MI

Minnesota MN

Mississippi MS

Missouri MO

Montana MT

Nebraska NE

Nevada NV

New Hampshire NH

New Jersey NJ

New Mexico NM

New York NY


North Carolina NC

North Dakota ND

Ohio OH

Oklahoma OK

Oregon OR

Pennsylvania PA

Rhode Island RI

South Carolina SC

South Dakota SD

Tennessee TN

Texas TX

Utah UT


Vermont VT

Virginia VA

Washington WA

West Virginia WV

Wisconsin WI

Wyoming WY

No specific deadline.

14 days if the tenant gives proper notice to landlord to terminate the lease. The deadline is extended to 30 days if the tenant fails to give proper notice.

14 days

30 days

21 days

1 month by default but can be extended to 60 days if the lease agreement specifies a longer deadline.

30 days or 15 days of receiving the tenant's forwarding address, whichever is later (meaning the deadline may be extended beyond 30 days if the forwarding address is received late).

20 days and up to 30 days for pet deposit.

45 days

15 days for return of security deposit if there are no deductions. If the landlord intends to make security deposit deductions, he or she has to inform the tenant in writing within 30 days. Once this deduction notice is issued, the landlord has 30 days to return the remaining deposit to the tenant.

1 month

14 days

21 days by default but can be extended to 30 days if the landlord and tenant agree to an extension.

45 days for security deposit return. If the landlord intends to make security deposit deductions, he or she has to inform the tenant in writing within 30 days.

45 days

30 days

30 days

30 days. This is extended to 60 days if there are disputes with the security deposit deductions.

30 days if there is a written lease agreement. If there is no written lease agreement, the deadline falls to 21 days.

30 days if there is a written lease agreement. If there is no written lease agreement, the deadline falls to 21 days.

45 days for security deposit return. If the landlord intends to make security deposit deductions, he or she has to inform the tenant in writing within 30 days.

30 days

30 days

21 days

45 days

30 days

30 days

14 days

30 days

30 days

30 days

30 days

No specific deadline. New York security deposit law specifies it as "reasonable time".

30 days

30 days

30 days

30 days

30 days

30 days

20 days

30 days

2 weeks

No specific deadline.

30 days

30 days or 15 days of receiving the tenant's forwarding address, whichever is later.

14 days

30 days

14 days

No specific deadline.

21 days

No specific deadline.

Security Deposit