What are the dos and don'ts of being a landlord? Learn what are the landlord's rights in the United States.
As we have stated in the previous page, this information to your rights as a landlord is based on the Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act and applies to the following U.S. states:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington
A landlord has the right to access the property (with advance notice) for the following reasons:
However, the landlord has to notify the tenant at least 48 hours before access and only enter the property during reasonable hours.
It is also within the landlord's right to enter the property without notification in the case of an emergency or property abandonment.
If the landlord has a valid reason to access the property (see the reasons above) and the tenant refuses to let the landlord in, the landlord may obtain a court order to either gain access to the property or terminate the lease. The landlord can also claim damages and attorney fees from the tenant.
Your rights as a landlord allow you to terminate a lease for the following reasons:
Unpaid Rent by Tenant - If the tenant is overdue with rent payments, the landlord may send the tenant a written notice to pay or quit. If the tenants fails to pay the rent within 3 days of receiving this written notice, the landlord is allowed to terminate the lease.
Abandonment of Property - If the tenant abandons the property, the landlord is allowed to terminate the lease and find a new tenant for the property (at reasonable rents). Once a tenant has been found and the new lease begins, the landlord can claim rent (pro-rated daily) from the previous tenant for the period that the property was abandoned.
Unlawful Property Possession by Tenant - If the tenant remains on the property with the landlord's consent after the lease expires, the landlord may file a lawsuit to evict the tenant. The landlord may also claim for damages up to 3 months of rent plus attorney fees.
Termination by 30 Day Notice - The landlord is allowed to terminate a month to month lease by giving the tenant a written 30 day notice to vacate in advance.
Disclaimer: While we make every effort to update this guide, always consult the law text on your state government website before making any legal decisions. If you have any questions, Click here to ask a professional real estate lawyer.
Rights of Landlords for Abandoned Property Not rated yet
Rights of landlords will play a crucial role if you find your rental home littered with the tenant's belongings after he moves out. His leftover belongings …